From Legal Thrillers To Suspense: 10 Authors Like John Grisham To Add To Your Reading List

Book

Just Press Play To Hear The Piece.

Are you a fan of legal thrillers and suspense novels? Do you constantly look for books that keep you on the edge of your seat? John Grisham is a prolific author who has written some of the best legal thrillers in modern literature, much like the compelling narratives found in 10 Authors Like Nicholas Sparks: Romantic Stories That Tug at Your Heartstrings. His books are full of suspense and drama, with complex characters and intricate plots. But where do you turn once you’ve read all of his books? In this article, we’ll introduce you to 10 authors who write similarly to john Gresham. These writers are masters of legal thrillers, suspense novels, and mysteries, and their books will keep you on the edge of your seat.

1. Michael Connelly

Michael Connelly is one of the best-selling and most prolific writers in the genre who writes similarly to John Grisham, aligning with the style of 5 Authors Like Michael Connelly: Top Detective Crime Authors. He has written 25 books, including the series Harry Bosch and the series Lincoln Lawyer. His books have been made into movies and TV shows and have sold more than 60 million copies worldwide.

Michael Connelly grew up in Los Angeles, where he spent his time reading mysteries and writing stories. He went to California State University at Northridge, where his main subject was writing. After he graduated, he worked for the Los Angeles Times from 1983 to 1992 as a crime writer.

While working at the L.A. Times, Connelly wrote his first book, The Black Echo. Its main character was Detective Harry Bosch. In 1997, The Black Echo was made into a movie starring Dustin Hoffman as Harry Bosch and Robert De Niro as his enemy Jerry Edgar, who would also be in later books.

Connelly has won many awards for his work, including an Edgar Award for Best Novel for The Drop (2014), an Anthony Award for Best Novel for Void Moon (2000), and a Shamus Award for Best P.I. Hardcover Novel for Chasing The Dime.

2. Lisa Scottoline

Lisa Scottoline is a great choice if you want to add a woman author to your list, echoing the themes found in 8 Great Female Authors Like Sarah J. Maas.. She has written over 30 books and has been nominated for several awards, including the Edgar Award from Mystery Writers of America and the Anthony Award from the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention. She has also won other awards for her work as an author and organizer, such as being named one of “The 20 Most Influential Women in Law” by Diverse: Issues in Higher Education magazine.

Her stories focus on the criminal justice system and how it affects those involved: lawyers, defendants, victims, witnesses and others. Her books often have strong female protagonists who are determined to make a difference in their communities despite being faced with difficult circumstances or roadblocks.

3. David Baldacci

The bestselling author of over 50 novels, David Baldacci, has written books in various genres, but he’s most well known for his legal thrillers. His work has been translated into over 45 languages and sold over 110 million copies worldwide. His books have also appeared on the New York Times Best Seller list more than 40 times, with seven titles reaching number one.

One of his most popular works is The Innocent Man: Murder & Injustice in a Small Town (2006), which was adapted for television by HBO in 2011. It tells the true story of Ron Williamson, an Oklahoma man wrongly convicted of murder and spent 12 years on death row before being exonerated by DNA evidence — making him one of the longest-serving death row inmates ever released.

4. Joseph Finder

Joseph Finder has written ten best-selling novels and two books that are not about stories. He often writes for The New York Times, GQ, and the Wall Street Journal. He has also written for Esquire, Playboy, Time Magazine, and Newsweek, among other magazines.

Finder has been nominated for numerous awards, including the Edgar Award and Anthony Award for Best Novel; his first novel was made into a movie starring Matthew Modine, Linda Hamilton and Brad Pitt.

Joseph Finder’s latest book, “The Fixer,” is about a disgraced former Secret Service agent who becomes an investigator by choice. His first six novels were in this vein: legal thrillers involving attorneys or law enforcement officials. Then he decided he wanted to try something different, something less formulaic.

5. Robert Dugoni

Author Robert Dugoni is best known for his legal thrillers, a style paralleled by 8 Best Authors Like Kristin Hannah. However, he’s also published several nonfiction books about his experiences as a lawyer and family man.

Dugoni was born in Seattle, Washington, in 1958 and got his law degree from Stanford in 1983. He was a lawyer for a few years before he decided to write full-time. His first book, A Man Called Intrepid: The Most Secret Agent of World War II, came out in 2010. Readers who like historical fiction bought it right away.

6. William Landay

William Landay is an American novelist best known for his legal thrillers. His first novel, Defending Jacob, was a finalist for the 2012 Edgar Award and won the 2013 Anthony Award for Best Novel. He followed up with The Strangler in 2015 and The Eye of God in 2016.

Landay graduated from Harvard University with a BA in English biography and literature and from Yale Law School with a J.D. He worked as an attorney before becoming a full-time writer.

7. Minette Walters

Minette Walters, a British crime writer, echoes the thematic richness found in 8 Authors Like Colleen Hoover Who Write Heart-Wrenching Romances Her first novel, The Ice House (1988), was nominated for the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger Award and was shortlisted for the 1989 John Creasey Memorial Award.

In 2005, Walters won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for her book Cut You Down. She has also been shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award three times: in 1994 (The Scold’s Bridle) and 1995 (Blood Lines) and again in 2008 (The Dark Room). amazon book publisher services have recently released new thriller books that are on par with the standard set by John Grisham.

8. Scott Turow

Scott Turow, a bestselling author with over 20 books, shares similarities with the works featured in Celebrating Diversity: A Look at 10 Famous Hispanic Authors and Their Contributions to Literature. including the international bestseller Presumed Innocent (1987). A former attorney and deputy attorney general in Illinois, he also served as a special assistant to President Jimmy Carter. His novels include The Burden of Proof, Pleading Guilty and Innocent Until Proven Dead. He has received many awards for his work, including an Edgar Award for Best Novel, an Emmy nomination for Best Television Feature Film Based on Factual Events (for his screenplay of Reversible Errors), and a Pulitzer Prize nomination for Fiction (for Testimony).

9. Gillian Flynn

Gillian Flynn is a bestselling author who writes psychological thrillers with complex and flawed characters. Her most famous book is “Gone Girl,” adapted into a movie starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. Other must-read books by Flynn include “Sharp Objects” and “Dark Places.”

10. James Patterson

James Patterson is a very productive writer who has written over 150 books in many different styles, such as legal thrillers and suspense stories. He is also a best friend of john Grisham. Alex Cross, a detective and psychologist who appears in many of Patterson’s books, is his most famous character. Some of his best books are “Along Came a Spider” and “Kiss the Girls.”

Conclusion

If you like John Grisham’s books and want to read more legal thrillers and suspense novels, these 10 authors should be on your mind. From Scott Turow’s intricate plots to Gillian Flynn’s flawed characters, these writers are masters of their craft and will keep you on the edge of your seat, just like john Grisham.

Struggling To Write And Publish Your Book Easily?
Why not hire a professional writer and publisher? Feel free to reach us."

Get Started +18772093121 Live Chat

Disclaimer:

All company logos and trademarks appearing on our website are the property of their respective owners. We are not affiliated, associated, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with these companies or their trademarks. The use of these logos and trademarks does not imply any endorsement, affiliation, or relationship between us and the respective companies. We solely use these logos and trademarks for identification purposes only. All information and content provided on our website is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as professional advice. We do not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information provided on our website. We are not responsible for any errors or omissions, or for the results obtained from the use of this information. Any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.