13 Must-Read Authors Like Stephen King

Writing

Click the audio play button to hear the entire article!!!

Stephen King is one of the most popular authors of all time, but his work isn’t the only thing you should read. Several other authors have similar styles and ideas as King. So if you’re looking for something new but still want to read some spooky stories from time to time, these are 13 must-read authors like King.

1.      Thomas Harris

Thomas Harris is a writer who people know best for his character Hannibal Lecter. He has been featured in several novels and movies. Harris’s writing is often suspenseful and psychological, focusing on the cat-and-mouse game between his characters.

2.      Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is a Canadian novelist, poet, literary critic and environmental activist. She has written over 40 books of fiction, poetry, and critical essays. Her writing covers a wide range of genres, from dystopian novels to children’s literature. It spans over fifty years. She has been awarded the Booker Prize twice–for The Blind Assassin in 2000 and for Alias Grace in 1996. She has also received multiple awards, such as the Order of Canada (1982), the Margaret Atwood Society Award (2003) etc.

3.      Anne Rice

Anne Rice, who blends horror and romance much like the storytelling in 10 authors like Nicholas Sparks, is famous for her Vampire Chronicles. Her books often combine horror with elements of romance and erotica. This makes them perfect for readers who enjoy King’s blend of genres. Rice’s writing style is immersive and atmospheric, focusing on vivid descriptions and complex characters.

4.      Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is an English author of short stories, novels, comic books, graphic novels, radio plays, and films. People usually know him from his Sandman series and his novel American Gods.

Gaiman has received numerous awards, including the Hugo Award for Best Short Story in 1995 for “A Study in Emerald” (written by Terry Pratchett). He also got an award for the Newbery Medal in 2014 for The Graveyard Book. He is also the first author to win both of these prestigious awards!

5.      Mark Twain

Mark Twain is a pen name for Samuel Langhorne Clemens, the American humorist and author. Both The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1876) and its second book, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1885), which people frequently refer to as “The Great American Novel,” were written by him.

On November 30th, 1835, he was born in Florida, Missouri. He died at age 74 on April 21st, 1910, in Redding, Connecticut.

6.      Joe Hill

If you’re a fan of Stephen King but looking for something a little different, Joe Hill might be your guy.

Joe Hill is the son of Stephen King–and that alone makes him an interesting choice for this list! His books aren’t as well-known as his father’s (yet), but they have a similar style. They’re both horror writers who use literary devices like metaphors and symbolism in their stories. But whereas King’s books tend to focus on monsters (like vampires), Joe Hill focuses more on psychological terror–the kind that comes from within our minds rather than external threats.

If you want some good scares without having people turn into supernatural beings all the time, check out these titles by this rising star!

7.      William Golding

William Golding was an English novelist who wrote Lord of the Flies. The book is about how humans are inherently evil and how we need to be controlled by rules and leaders. It’s also about how people need to be forced to be good, or they will end up doing bad things like killing each other.

Golding wrote this novel after seeing WWII firsthand in Britain and working with children the schools had neglected during his time teaching there.

8.      Ursula K. Le Guin

If you’re a fan of Stephen King and want to dive into another author who explores similar themes, you should check out Ursula K. Le Guin. Her most famous works include The Left Hand of Darkness, one of the first science fiction novels a woman ever wrote. Then we also have The Dispossessed, A Wizard of Earthsea, and Lathe of Heaven (which was adapted into an award-winning film).

She uses vivid writing to describe fantastical worlds often rooted in reality. The perfect combination for anyone looking for an escape from the daily grind!

9.      Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

Kurt Vonnegut Jr., renowned for his satirical style akin to unlock your inner illustrator: how to illustrate a children’s book, wrote thought-provoking, humorous tales. His stories often feature an ironic twist, or what he called a “kicker.” He also wrote about themes such as war, death, destruction and the abuse of power in society.

Vonnegut’s works are often considered postmodern because they reject traditional literary techniques. Some examples are her character development and plot structure in favor of fragmented narratives that often jump between periods or locations. These jump cuts have little to no explanation of how they fit together–a style known as “aesthetic fragmentation.” The reader must piece together these fragments on their own without any assistance from the author. This allows them to form their interpretations of events rather than being told what those events mean by someone else (i.e., through exposition). Additionally, many critics have argued that Vonnegut’s novels contain absurdist elements due to their heavy use of irony throughout each storyline. However, others argue against this idea by pointing out that most absurdist texts rely heavily on satire.

10. Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury is an American writer of fantasy, science fiction, horror and mystery. His best-known works include “The Martian Chronicles”, “Fahrenheit 451”, and “Something Wicked This Way Comes”.

Bradbury has written over 500 short stories, television scripts, plays and poems published in over 1,000 magazines and journals. In addition to his work as an author, he was also a theater director and producer with the Los Angeles Playhouse (1947-1950).

11. Edgar Allan Poe

An American author, editor, poet and literary critic, Edgar Allan Poe also wrote fiction. He is well renowned for his short stories and poetry, especially his macabre and mystery-themed works.

Poe was born on January 19, 1809, in Boston, to parents David Poe Jr., a successful actor who died three years later from tuberculosis. His mother, Elizabeth Arnold Hopkins Poe, had also died young of illness when Edgar was just 2 years old. Due to this, he was brought up by John Allan, a wealthy merchant from Richmond, Virginia. Later on, he adopted him as his heir on the requirement that he change his name from ‘Edgar’ (which he disliked) to ‘Edgar Allan’.

12. James Joyce

Another author like Stephen King is James Joyce, an Irish novelist and poet best known for his novel Ulysses. He also wrote Dubliners, Finnegans Wake and Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man. His style is difficult to read, so he is not for everyone. But if you are ready to take the time to comprehend it, you will be rewarded with some amazing writing that few writers can match.

Joyce is considered one of the most important writers of the 20th century. He worked as a teacher, journalist, and editor at several Dublin newspapers.

13. Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Fyodor Dostoyevsky was born in 1821 and died in 1881. He wrote novels, short stories and essays that focused on the psychology of the criminal mind. He also wrote about poverty, crime and punishment; religion, philosophy and politics; human nature.

According to Alpha Book Writers, Dostoyevsky’s writings are considered some of the most important in world literature. They have been translated into more than 170 languages and have sold over 90 million copies.

Dostoyevsky’s writings influenced many writers, including Fyodor Mikhaylovich Bondarchuk, Franz Kafka, Ernest Hemingway and Leo Tolstoy.

Conclusion

If you’re a fan of Stephen King’s work, plenty of other authors share his gift for creating unforgettable characters and chilling tales. Whether you prefer horror, suspense, or a blend of genres, these 13 must-read authors are sure to give you plenty of reasons to stay up late at night with a flashlight and a good book.

These authors are a great place to start if you’re looking for a good read. They have a similar style and tone as Stephen King, so if you enjoy his work, chances are they will too!

Struggling To Write And Publish Your Book Easily?
Why not hire a professional writer and publisher? Feel free to reach us."

Get Started +18772093121 Live Chat

Disclaimer:

All company logos and trademarks appearing on our website are the property of their respective owners. We are not affiliated, associated, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with these companies or their trademarks. The use of these logos and trademarks does not imply any endorsement, affiliation, or relationship between us and the respective companies. We solely use these logos and trademarks for identification purposes only. All information and content provided on our website is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as professional advice. We do not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information provided on our website. We are not responsible for any errors or omissions, or for the results obtained from the use of this information. Any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.